When to use WordPress?

When to use WordPress?

ยท

2 min read

In this present article I will take an approach on an experience that I had recently related to Wordpress. And how I knew the right time to use it.

For laypeople, Wordpress is a free and open-source content management system (CMS) written in PHP and paired with a MySQL or MariaDB database. It basically works like a low-code tool, say, put it makes it easy to create websites and online stores without having to write a single line of code.

Leaving slang and definitions aside, let's get to what really matters.

Many devs, especially the most experienced, show, say, an aggressive contempt for Wordpress, and to be honest, I am one of those ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ. I never really took a wordpress course, I thought it was too easy, and easy things tend to understand me very quickly, it does not present any challenge, something to keep me warm, so I never learned WordPress myself.

But recently I was registered to build the website of a very popular sports club in my country (the second most popular club) and in the standards and specifications of the website, I had several requirements to add on the website, analyzing the requirements I realized that by the time they were giving it, it would be impossible to fulfill, not that there is a feacture that I cannot develop, but yes, the time was very I enjoy. So I decided to do some research on WordPress and by chance, I found a template just like the one they specified and I also found several Wordpress plugins that do exactly what they they wanted it and when I saw it all, I shouted to myself, "Odin's beard. ๐Ÿ˜" So I thought: why reinvent the wheel? I'm going to use Wordpress and that's it. I won't let my pride make me losing money and the privilege of creating my favorite club website by the way.

In this walk and research, I learned a lot and really the phrase that many devs say: "Don't reinvent the wheel" now made a lot of sense.

Lesson 1: Don't reinvent the wheel.

Lesson 2: Use wordpress or another CMS when development time is short or you want to streamline the development process.